Buckeye Kosher Product Guide 2014

Click here for a Printable PDFpdfDown

Product Guide 2014

Buckeye Kosher (operated by Columbus Vaad Ho’Ir)

www.buckeyekosher.org
(614) 654-1645

This guide allows one to distinguish between products that need a reliable kosher symbol from those that may not need any certification at all. Products that require a certification will need a kosher symbol that is found on Buckeye Kosher’s approved kosher symbol list. Products that bear a symbol that is not on the approved kosher symbol list, or bears a plain K, or bears no symbol at all are usually not approved. [Some exceptions to this are noted below]. Private labeled products must bear an approved kosher symbol on the package; kosher letters are generally insufficient.

Products that do not require a certification does not need a kosher symbol and will be approved regardless of the kosher symbol it may have.

Product ingredients will impact into which category the product falls and it is important to carefully read the product’s ingredient list even if the label makes statements such as “100% Pure”, “100% Juice”, etc.

All products, except for raw uncut produce, must come in their original sealed package. Please inquire with Buckeye Kosher regarding any products not mentioned in this guide. The information in this guide does not pertain to Passover.

Aluminum Foil – Does not require certification
Applesauce – Plain applesauce does not require certification. However, applesauce with added coloring or flavoring requires a certification (i.e. – Mott’s plain applesauce is approved, but Mott’s flavored apple sauces are not approved).
Baby Food – Requires certification
Bagels – Requires certification
Baking Powder & Soda – Does not require certification

Bread – Requires certification.
Butter – Requires certification
Cake & Cake Mixes – Requires certification
Candy – Requires certification
Canned Beans – Requires certification
Canned Fruit – Most varieties containing fruit, water, sugar, syrup, ascorbic acid, citric acid do not require a certification. Those containing a flavoring, coloring, or grape juice do require certification. All canned berries require certification regardless of the type of berry. Products from Israel and China require a certification.
Canned Mushrooms – Requires certification
Canned Olives – Those containing only water, salt, and ferrous gluconate and/or lactic acid do not require a certification. Those containing oil, vinegar, or pimientos do require a certification. Products of Israel require a certification.
Canned Vegetables – Requires certification. Some varieties of Del Monte canned vegetables are approved.
Cheese – Requires certification
Chocolate – Requires certification
Cleansers, Countertop & Sink – Requires certification
Cocoa Powder – 100% pure does not require a certification. Cocoa mixes, however, do require a certification.
Coffee (Including Decaf) – Unflavored does not require a certification. Flavored requires a certification.
Condiments (ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.) – Requires certification.
Cookies & Cookie Mixes – Requires certification

Corn Meal, Powder, & Starch – Does not require certification
Crackers – Requires certification
Cream – Requires certification
Cream Cheese – Requires certification
Cupcake Paper – Does not require certification
Danishes – Requires certification
Dishwashing Detergents & Soaps – Requires certification
Doughnuts – Requires certification
Dressings – Requires certification

Dried Fruit – Requires certification except for apricots, pitted dates, peaches, pears, nectarines and domestic raisins
Eggs – Does not require a certification. NOTE: One must check eggs for blood spots.
Egg Substitutes – Requires certification. NOTE: Some egg substitutes are certified dairy.
Fish – Raw with fins and scales still intact does not require certification. Prepackaged plain fillets with scales still intact does not require certification. Skinned or processed requires certification.
Flour – Does not require certification NOTE: Bugs may be found in flour that has been stored for a long period of time.
Frozen Fruits – Plain and those containing added sugar, including all types of berries, do not require certification.
Frozen Vegetables – Fully cooked frozen vegetables such as winter squash requires certification. Most varieties that are raw do not require a certification. Those containing added pasta, sauce, or seasoning requires certification. Frozen asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, or spinach requires a reliable certification or inspection for bugs. Frozen brussel sprouts and artichoke hearts require a certification.
Fruit Juice – Except for Grape Juice, most varieties of plain fruit juice do not require a certification unless they include grape, natural flavors and/or artificial flavors. Juice blends and cocktails require certification. Ocean Spray Cranberry Juice Cocktail is approved. Ocean Spray Lite Cranberry and most other varieties are not approved. NOTE: Some fruit juices are processed in a dairy, and are certified dairy.
Herbs – Does not require a certification, NOTE: Fresh herbs require inspection for bugs while dried herbs do not require such an inspection.
Honey – All pure, unflavored do not require certification.
Hummus – Requires certification
Ice Cream – Requires certification.
Infant Formula – Requires certification
Jams & Jellies – Requires certification
Margarine – Requires certification. NOTE: Many brands are certified dairy.
Marshmallows & Marshmallow Fluff – Requires certification. NOTE: Most varieties contain gelatin.
Meat – Requires certification and must be Glatt
Milk – Unflavored does not require certification, however, flavored does require certification
Molasses – Unflavored does not require certification
Non-Dairy Creamers – Requires certification. NOTE: Many brands contain caseinate, a milk derivative, and are therefore still certified dairy.
Noodles – Those that contain only flour and water do not require a certification such as rice noodles that only contain rice flour and water. Egg noodles or those containing added coloring, flavoring, or seasoning require a certification.
Nuts – Raw does not require certification. Except for roasted peanuts, all roasted nuts and those with added ingredients do require certification. Caution: Some processed nuts contain added gelatin.

Olive Oil – Extra-virgin does not require certification. Virgin, pure, or all other types requires certification. Products of Israel require certification.
Oven Cleaner – Does not require certification
Pancakes & Pancake Mixes – Requires certification.
Parchment Paper – Silicon coated does not require certification. Quillon coated requires certification.
Pasta – Requires certification
Pastries – Requires certification. Sara Lee products are approved when bearing KVH.
Peanut Butter – Requires certification
Pickles – Requires certification
Pizza – Requires certification
Plastic Bags & Wraps – Does not require certification
Polish, Silver – Does not require certification
Popcorn – Raw kernels do not require certification. Those that are processed in oil and microwave popcorn requires certification. Bagged or commercially sold popcorn requires certification.
Potato Chips – Requires certification
Potatoes (Processed, Instant, etc.) – Requires certification
Poultry – Requires certification
Pretzels – Requires certification
Pudding – Requires certification
Raisins – Plain sun dried does not require a certification. Oil coated raisins, however, do require certification.
Raw Produce – Does not require certification. Pre-cut from a produce supplier is approved, while pre-cut produce from a non-kosher grocery store is not approved. NOTE: Many varieties require inspection for bugs.
Rice – Raw, wild, or parboiled does not require a certification. Instant or those containing flavoring or seasoning requires certification. Many varieties of Uncle Ben’s rice are also approved.
Rolls – Requires certification
Salt – Does not require certification
Sauces – Requires certification. Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce, Dei Fratelli Sauces and Tobasco Sauce are also approved.
Seeds (Poppy, Sesame, etc.) – Does not require certification

Sherbet & Sorbet – Requires certification
Soda Pop – Requires certification (Big K brand is not certified). Unflavored Ginger Ale does not require certification.
Soup – Requires certification
Sour Cream – Requires certification
Spices – Pure (cumin, coriander, garlic powder, onion powder, etc.) does not require certification. Blends and seasonings (garlic salt, onion salt, steak seasoning, taco seasoning, etc.) requires certification. Spices with added stearate requires certification.
Sugar (Cane, Brown, etc.) – Does not require certification
Tea (Including Decaf) – Unflavored does not require certification, however, flavored does require certification
Tehina – 100% pure ground sesame seeds does not require certification
Tomato Juice – Requires certification
Vegetable Juice – Requires certification
Vegetable Oil & Shortening – Requires certification
Vinegar – Requires certification
Water (Including Carbonated, Seltzer, & Tonic) – Unflavored does not require certification. Flavored water does require certification.
Wax Paper – Requires certification
Wines – Requires certification and must be Mevushal
Yeast – Requires certification
Yogurt – Requires certification

Buckeye Kosher Product Guide 2014 Page of